CHECKLIST FOR KIDS & PARENTS 


Hello Fam! and compliments of the season!  So I decided to share thoughts from one my books that i value so much. The book is titled     “WHAT KIDS NEED TO SUCCEED” (by – Peter L.  Benson, Ph. D.,  Etal..) The authors of this book came up with a checklist after carrying out a nationwide survey of over 270,000 young people in 600 commuinties in the U. S. A . They are over Twenty of them,  but I proned it down to ten that I feel is suitable  to our environment here in Nigeria. This checklist helps parents identify traits their kids already have and the one they need.

– CHECKLIST FOR PARENTS –

1. I provide a warm,  caring environment for my child at home.

2. I’m approachable when my child has something serious to talk about.

3. I frequently take time to talk seriously with my child.

4. I talk with my child about school,  sometimes help my child with school work and attend school events.

5. I set rules for my child and enforce the consequences when rules are broken.

6. My child is involved in band,  or choir  or takes lessons on a musical instrument.  He or she practices one or more hours a week.

7. My child participates in school sports activities or other organisations one or more hours a week.

8. My child is interested in helping others and trying to improve their lives.

9. My child can stick up for his or her beliefs and is good at making decisions.

10. My child feels good about himself or herself and envisions a happy future for himself or herself.


– CHECKLIST FOR KIDS –

1. I feel loved and supported in my family .

2. My parents are approachable when I have  something serious to talk about.

3. I regularly have in-depth conversations with my parents,  we also talk about school and they sometimes help with school work and attend school events.

4. My parents set rules for me and enforce the consequences when I break the rules.

5. I am involved in band,  or choir  or take lessons on a musical instrument.  I practices one or more hours a week.

6. I participates in school sports activities or other organisations one or more hours a week.

7. I am interested in helping others and trying to improve their lives.

8. I stick up for my beliefs and I am good at making decisions.

9. I feels good about myself

10. I envisions a happy future for myself.

One thought on “CHECKLIST FOR KIDS & PARENTS 

Leave a Reply

